» » » Oregon 6-Day Notice to Quit Form | Non-Payment of Rent

Oregon 6-Day Notice to Quit Form | Non-Payment of Rent

Create a high quality document online now!

The Oregon 6-Day notice to quit for non-payment, also referred to as the “144-hour notice“, is a document to be delivered to a tenant as written notice for the nonpayment of rent 3 days (72 hours) after the due date. The notice shall entail the amount of rent that must be paid within 6 days (144 hours) and if rent fails to be paid, the rental agreement will terminate. In the notice, the landlord must specify the location where payments must be sent.

For delivery, if the landlord serves the tenant by certified mail, the grace period for the tenant to cure the non-payment of rent shall extend for an additional 3 days (therefore 9 days total) and the notice shall include the extension. For personal delivery, the landlord shall attach the notice in a secure manner to the main entrance of the tenant’s premises and also deliver a copy of the notice by first-class mail addressed to the tenant.

Laws –  ORS  § 90.394

How to Write

Step 1 – In the first box at the top of the form, enter the following information:

  • Name of Property
  • Property Address & Unit Number
  • Landlord/Owner/Agent Name
  • Name of Resident(s) (Tenant(s)
  • Date

Step 2 – In the second paragraph, enter the total amount of rent due but do not include late fees or any other charges. In the box below, this is where you will enter other charges for instance late fees or service charges. If there are none other charges, simply leave it blank. Tally the total due and enter the number.

Step 3 – Determine which type of delivery method you will use to serve the tenant and mark the checkbox appropriately. Include the date and if served personally include the time as well.

Step 4 – Enter the payment due date, including the time of day and sign the document.


ABOUT SSL CERTIFICATES