eForms Logo

Wyoming Firearm Bill of Sale Form

Create a high-quality document now!

Wyoming Firearm Bill of Sale Form

Updated September 14, 2023

A Wyoming firearm bill of sale is a legal document that shows proof that a firearm has been sold and legally acquired between two (2) private parties in the State of Wyoming. This document provides information regarding the firearm, change of ownership, the seller, and the buyer. It requires notarization, although there are no restrictions on ownership or use for gun owners. At the very least this would be beneficial for the seller and buyer for record-keeping and would serve as an added layer of security to both parties on various levels.

Table of Contents

Privately Selling a Firearm

Wyoming has no laws regulating the sales of firearms.

Prohibited from Buying

In order to purchase a firearm in Wyoming, a person must:[1]

  • Be at least:
    • Twenty-one (21) years of age if the firearm is a handgun;
    • Eighteen (18) years of age if the firearm is a shotgun or rifle.
  • Not have been convicted of any felony in any state, territory or other jurisdiction of the United States. This paragraph shall not apply to antique firearms;
  • Not currently be adjudicated to be legally incompetent; and
  • Not have been committed to a mental institution.

Registering a Firearm

Wyoming has no laws requiring the registration of firearms with the state.

Concealed Carry

A permit is not required to carry a concealed weapon in Wyoming, however, the state does offer a Concealed Firearms Permit for reciprocity. A Concealed Firearms Permit also allows the holder to purchase a firearm in the state without undergoing a federal background check.

How to Apply

The age requirement for a Concealed Firearms Permit is twenty-one (21).

Step 1 – Complete a Concealed Firearm Permit Application.

Step 2 – Submit the application to the applicant’s local sheriff’s department.

Step 3 – Pass a federal background check.


Wyoming recognizes the concealed carry licenses from all states except the following: California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New, Jersey, New York, Oregon, Vermont, Washington, and Wyoming.[2]


  1. WY Stat § 6-8-404
  2. WY Stat § 6-8-104