South Carolina 5-Day Notice to Quit Form | Non-Payment

Create a high quality document online now!

The South Carolina Five (5) Day Notice to Quit (Non-Payment) is a legal notice requiring a tenant to pay past-due rent within 5 days or ejectment proceedings will be brought against them by the landlord. In the state of South Carolina, a landlord does not need to serve a written notice if in the rental agreement it specifies in bold conspicuous type that all it takes is five days of past-due rent to begin eviction proceedings.

If the tenant fails to pay past-due rent and move out from the premises, the landlord can file suit with the court to bring upon an eviction. After the court has given the tenant a copy of service, the tenant shall vacate or go before the magistrate within 10 days to show cause as to why he should not be ejected.

Laws – § 27-40-710(B)

How to Write

Once complete, serve this notice upon the tenant by either personal delivery at the tenant’s rental unit or by certified addressed to the tenant’s rental unit. The form must be completed including all empty fields before serving with the following information.

  • Tenant’s name and address
  • Amount of all late-rent due and fees
  • Landlord’s or agent’s signature
  • The address and telephone number of the landlord/agent

ABOUT SSL CERTIFICATES