Alabama Name Change Forms – How to Change Your Name in AL

Updated June 06, 2022

An Alabama name change form allows an adult or minor child to legally change their name. If the individual wants to change their name after marriage or divorce then the marriage certificate or divorce decree is all that is needed in when changing your name at the DMV (for a Driver’s License), Social Security Office, or to receive a new passport. If the applicant is changing their name for any other purpose then he or she will need to complete the Name Change Petition and submit to their respective County Court Location along with the filing fee.

Laws – Section 12-13-1(b)(10)

Table of Contents

Name Change After Marriage

Once you have been officially married and recognized by the local government you will receive a marriage license by your local town/city hall or county office. The license will serve as proof of your marriage and may use to change to your spouse’s name at any government office.

Name Change After Divorce

You should have received a document known as a divorce decree after your dissolution has been finalized. The Decree may be used at any government office in order to change your last name back to your maiden or previous name.

Adult Name Change (No Marriage or Divorce)

An adult, which is someone at least 19 years old (per § 26-1-1), may change their name under the following conditions:

  • Resident of Alabama;
  • Cannot have been a convicted of a felony or as a sex offender;
  • Not currently a defendant of a criminal charge; and
  • Not avoiding a debt.

Step 1 – Fill-in the Petition

Complete the petition for a name change for an Adult. The State of Alabama provides Form PS-12 or you can use the local petitions provided by your Local Probate Court.

Sample County Petitions

Step 2 – Sign the Petition with a Notary Public

The name change petition must be signed in front of a Notary Public. This involves the applicant bringing proper identification such as a driver’s license and a Notary Public may be found at any bank branch in the United States. Although some financial institutions may charge a fee.

Step 3 – Get a Background Check

Complete the Application to Review Alabama Criminal History Record Information and sign either in the presence of two (2) witnesses or a Notary Public. You will need to make a copy of valid identification (such as a driver’s license) and attach.

You will need to go to a local Sheriff’s office or police department with two (2) copies of the FBI Applicant Fingerprint Cards. There will be an administrative fee of $25 plus $5 for any additional copies (no checks accepted, cash is best).

You will get your completed background check, or “rap sheet”, at the end of the records search.

Step 4 – Gather Your Documents

The following documents will be required to be submitted to the Probate Court in your area:

  • Name Change PetitionForm PS-12;
  • Background Check – “Rap Sheet”;
  • 2 Proofs of Residence – Such as a lease and utility bill;
  • Photo Identification – Such as a driver’s license;
  • Birth Certificate – Depending on the County may need to be an original or a copy;
  • Filing Fee – Check with your Local Probate Court as the fee ranges from $25 to $95.

Step 5 – File at the Probate Court

File all your documents at your Local Probate Court where you are a resident. Submit all your documents and filing fee and a hearing will be set. In the meantime, the court will publish your name change to the public through a newspaper that serves in your area or by posting at the courthouse.

Step 6 – Attend the Hearing

Attend your court hearing and there may be a fee assessed by the court for the fee of publishing your new name in the newspaper. Upon payment and answering any questions by the Probate Judge your new name will be certified through a Decree. You will need to use this Decree as your official form for changing your name with any government office or institution.

Driver’s License

To change your name on a driver’s license in Alabama an individual will need to bring their name change documents (Marriage License, Divorce Decree, or Judge’s Certificate) to a Driver’s License Office and have the Required Documents in order to provide identification. A new picture will most likely be taken and then the driver’s license will be either given on the spot or sent in the mail.

Voter Registration

In order to have your new name be reflected when voting an individual will have to re-submit the voter application (Form NVRA-2) or fill in the online application located at www.alabamavotes.gov/olvr/default.aspx.

Minor (Child) Name Change

An attorney must perform the name change request on behalf of the parents if any of the following apply:

  • One (1) of the parents do not consent to the name change;
  • One (1) of the parents are not able to be located;
  • The birth certificate of the minor does not list the father and there is no court order or blood test stating the father’s name;

If none of the above statements apply then you may begin.

Step 1 – Both Parents Submit a Background Check

Both parents must adhere to a background check unless one (1) of the parents have died or their parental rights have been terminated. This may be completed by filling in the Application to Review Alabama Criminal History Record Information and signing either in the presence of two (2) witnesses or a Notary Public. The parents will need to make copies of valid identification (such as a driver’s license) and attach.

The parents will then proceed to a local Sheriff’s office or police department with two (2) copies of the FBI Applicant Fingerprint Cards. There will be an administrative fee of $25 plus $5 for any additional copies (no checks accepted, cash is best).

Both parents will receive their own completed background check, or “rap sheet”, at the end of the records search.

Step 2 – Minor’s Birth Certificate (Certified Copy)

A certified copy of the child’s birth certificate must be produced. If the child was born in Alabama you may contact the Center for Health Statistics at (334) 206-2637 to obtain.

Step 3 – Name Change Petition

The Minor (Child) Name Change Petition must be completed by the parents. The minor must sign the Consent Form if he or she is over 14 years old. Both forms must be notarized.

Step 4 – Gather Your Documents

In order to properly file for the name change the following documents must be collected:

  • Background Check – “Rap Sheet” of both parents;
  • Certified Birth Certificate – If the father’s name is not listed then a certified copy of a court order or blood test will be required;
  • Name Change Petition – Along with the Consent Form (if applicable);
  • Identification – Such as a driver’s license or passport; and
  • Filing Fee – Depends on the County. Check your Local Probate Court.
  • Court Order or Blood Test (if applicable) – If the father’s name is not listed on the birth certificate.

Step 5 – File with the Probate Court

Bring all your document and the filing fee to your Local Probate Court. A court hearing date will be set and if only one (1) of the parents are filing the petition the other will be notified. The non-petitioning parent will have thirty (30) days to consent or object to the name change (per § 26-11-3).

If the non-petitioning parent cannot be located the Probate Court will be required to publish the minor’s new name in the newspaper.

Step 6 – Attend the Hearing

The parents and the minor will be required to attend the hearing at the Probate Court. The Judge may ask the parents specific questions in addition to the minor. If accepted, the minor will be granted a name change declaration.