eForms Logo

Montana Firearm Bill of Sale Form

Create a high-quality document now!

Montana Firearm Bill of Sale Form

Updated October 05, 2023

A Montana firearm bill of sale is a form completed by a buyer and seller in a firearms transaction in the State of Montana. It proves that the sale was legal and a formal change of ownership was completed. It also includes identifying information about the buyer, the seller, and the firearm itself. It must be executed in the presence of a notary public.

Table of Contents

Privately Selling a Firearm

Any person who is legally allowed to own a firearm can also sell a firearm without a license in a private transaction.[1]

Prohibited from Buying

A person is prohibited from purchasing a firearm in Montana if they have been convicted of:

  • A felony for which the person received an additional sentence;[2] or
  • An offense under the law of another state or of the United States that is equivalent to an offense that when committed in Montana is subject to an additional sentence.

Registering a Firearm

Any government or municipal agency is prohibited from requiring the registration of private firearms with the state, except for valid public safety reasons.[3]

Concealed Carry

A permit is not required to carry a concealed weapon in Montana, however, the state does still offer an optional Concealed Weapon Permit.

How to Apply

An individual must be at least eighteen (18) years old to apply for a concealed carry permit in Montana.[4]

Step 1 – Complete a firearm education or safety training course as approved by the department of fish, wildlife, and parks.[5]

Step 2 – Submit a completed Concealed Weapon Permit Application to the resident’s local sheriff’s office.

Step 3 – Submit fingerprints.

Step 4 – Pay the $50 filing fee.[6]

Step 5 – Pass a background check.[4]

Step 6 – The sheriff’s office will approve or deny the application within sixty (60) days of receiving it. 


Montana recognizes the concealed carry permits of all states that require background checks in the application process for their respective permit. The following states’ permits are not recognized by Montana: Delaware, Hawaii, Maine, Montana, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont.[7]


  1. MT Code § 45-8-351
  2. MT Code § 46-18-221
  3. MT Code § 45-8-351
  4. MT Code § 45-8-321
  5. MT Code § 45-8-321(3)
  6. MT Code § 45-8-322
  7. MT Code § 45-8-329(1)(c)