» » Tattoo & Body Piercing Consent Form

Tattoo & Body Piercing Consent Form

Create a high quality document online now!

The tattoo and body piercing consent form allows an artist or piercer the freedom of legal and financial liability if an unforeseen accident should take place during the procedure. In addition, this form is also widely used for minors seeking tattoos and piercings in accordance with the respective State laws. If allowed, the consent form is required to be completed and signed by the parent or guardian (and notarized in applicable States).

Table of Contents

Download By Type

Adult Tattoo Consent – For an adult to give consent to an artist for a tattoo on themselves.

Adult Piercing Consent – For an adult to give consent to a piercer for a body piercing on themselves.

Minor (Child) Tattoo Consent – For an adult to give consent to an artist to allow a tattoo on their child.

Minor (Child) Piercing Consent – For an adult to give consent to a piercer to allow a body piercing on their child.

Tattoo or Piercing with Parental Consent

In most cases, a minor is able to be tattooed or pierced. It usually requires the consent of the Parent or Guardian and often requires them to be present during the procedure. Below, you can find the laws to see if it is legal for a minor to obtain a piercing or tattoo in your State.

State Law Allowed?
 Alabama § 22-17A-2  Yes, with written parental or guardian consent.
 Alaska AS 08.13.217 Piercings – Allowed with written parental/guardian consent. Written consent must be kept by the piercer for 3 years.

Tattoos – Not allowed.

 Arizona § 13-3721 Yes, with the parent or guardian present. No written consent is required.
 Arkansas § 20-27-1502 Yes, with the parent or guardian present and written consent. Piercer or Tattoo Artist must keep the written consent for at least 2 years.
 California PEN Code 652

PEN Code 653

 Piercings – Allowed without consent if in the earlobes. If not, written consent required with notarization or the parent or guardian must be present during the procedure.

Tattoos – Not allowed on minors whatsoever.

 Colorado § 25-4-2103   Yes, with the parent or guardian’s express consent.
 Connecticut § 19a-92g

§ 20-266n

Piercings – Permitted with the parent/guardian’s consent. If in earlobes, consent is not required.

Tattoos – Not allowed unless for medical reasons.

 Delaware § 1114 Yes, if the parent or guardian provides written and notarized consent. Ear piercings are exempt from this requirement.
 Florida § 381.0075

§ 381.00787

Piercings – Permitted without consent if in the ear. Otherwise, written and notarized consent is required. If below the age of 16, the parent or guardian must be present.

Tattoos – Yes, with written and notarized consent. The parent/guardian must also be present. A minor younger than 16 may not be tattooed unless for medical purposes.

 Georgia § 16-5-71.1

§ 16-5-71

 Piercings – Yes, with the parent or guardian’s written consent. Piercings to the earlobe do not require consent.

 Tattoos – Not permitted on minors unless for medical reasons.

 Hawaii § 321-379 Piercings – No current piercing laws.

Tattoos – Allowed with written consent from the minor’s parent or guardian. Consent forms must be kept at the tattoo shop 2 years.

 Idaho § 18-1523 Yes, if above the age of 14 and with written consent from the parent or guardian. Consent is not required if a piercing to the earlobe.
 Illinois ILCS 5/12C-40

ILCS 5/12C-35

Piercings – Yes, if the minor has written consent from their parent or guardian. Ear piercings do not require consent.

Tattoos – Not permitted on minors.

 Indiana § 35-42-2-7  Yes, if the parent or guardian is present and provides written consent. Piercings to earlobes are excluded from this requirement.
 Iowa  § 135.37 Piercings – No current regulations regarding body piercings.

 Tattoos – Unless married, a minor may not receive a tattoo.

 Kansas  § 65-1953 Yes, if the parent/guardian is present and gives written and notarized consent. Documents must be kept by the business for 5 years.
 Kentucky § 211.760 Yes, with the parent or guardian’s written and notarized consent.
 Louisiana § 14:93.2 Yes, if the parent or guardian is present and gives their consent. If a body piercing, only consent is required.
 Maine § 4323

§ 4203

Piercings –  Yes, if the minor has written consent from their parent or guardian.

 Tattoos – No, it is illegal to tattoo a minor.

 Maryland § 10.06.01.06

House Bill 328

Yes, if the minor’s parent or guardian signs a consent form in the presence of the operator or a qualified individual. Earlobe piercings do not require consent. The business must retain consent forms for 3 years.
 Massachusetts Model Regulations for Body Art Establishments Piercings – Yes, if the parent of guardian is present and signs a form of consent. Genitalia piercings are not permitted.

Tattoos – No, minors are not allowed to receive tattoos.

 Michigan § 333.13102 Yes, with the parent or guardian’s written consent.
 Minnesota § 146B.07 Piercings – Yes, if the parent/guardian is present and signs a consent form in front of the technician. Piercings to the nipple or genitalia are not allowed.

Tattoos – No, a technician is prohibited from operating on a minor.

 Mississippi § 73-61-3

§ 73-61-1

Piercings – Allowed if the piercing is to the outer ear or lobe. All other piercings are prohibited.

Tattoos – No, a minor may not be tattooed.

 Missouri § 324.520  Yes, if the parent/guardian is present and signs a written consent form. Ear piercings are allowed without consent.
 Montana § 37.112.158 Allowed if the parent/guardian is present during the procedure and gives their explicit consent.
 Nebraska § 38-10,165 Yes, if the parent/guardian gives written consent and is present. Ear piercings do not require consent. Consent forms shall be kept by the technician for a period of 5 years.
 Nevada No State Regulations  Regulations vary between Nevada Health Districts. Standard regulations should apply.
 New Hampshire § 314-A:8 Piercings – Yes, if the parent/guardian gives their consent and is present during the procedure. Records shall be kept by the technician for 7 years. Piercings to the earlobe are excluded from these requirements.

Tattoos – No, a minor may not receive a tattoo.

 New Jersey  § 2C:40-21 Yes, with the parent or guardian’s written consent.
 New Mexico § 16.36.5.11 Yes, with written proof of the parent or guardian’s presence and consent. Consent is not needed for piercings to the earlobe. Records must be kept for 3 years.
 New York § 460-a

§ 260.21

Piercings – Yes, if the parent or guardian signs a consent form in the presence of the shop owner or technician. Such forms must be kept by the shop for 12 months. Consent is not required for ear piercings.

Tattoos – Not allowed.

 North Carolina § 14-400 Piercings – Yes, with prior consent received from the parent or guardian. Piercings to the ear are exempt.

Tattoos – No, not allowed in the State.

 North Dakota  § 12.1-31-13 Yes, if the parent or guardian is gives written consent and is present during the procedure.
 Ohio § 3730.06 Yes, if the parent or guardian is present and provides written consent.
 Oklahoma § 842.1 Piercings – Yes, written consent is required unless making a piercing to the ear. The parent or guardian must be present during the procedure.

Tattoos – Not allowed.

 Oregon § 331-905-0110

§ 331-915-0065

Piercings – Yes, with written consent of the parent or guardian, signed at the shop location. Applies to ear piercings and standard body piercings only.

Tattoos – No, a minor may not be tattooed unless for medical reasons.

 Pennsylvania  § 6311  Allowed if the parent or guardian gives their consent and is present during the tattooing/piercing.
 Rhode Island § 23-1-39

§ 11-9-15 

Piercings – Allowed if the minor is accompanied by his/her parent or guardian during the procedure and if the parent or guardian gives their consent.

Tattoos – Not allowed unless for medical purposes.

 South Carolina § 44-32-120

§ 44-34-100

Piercings – Yes, if the parent/guardian is present during the procedure or with written and notarized consent. No consent required for piercings to the earlobe.

Tattoos – Not permitted.

 South Dakota § 44:12:02:13

§ 26-10-19

  Yes, with the parent or guardian’s written consent.
 Tennessee § 62-38-306

§ 62-38-211

Piercings – Yes, with the parent/guardian’s written consent. The parent/guardian must be present during the procedure. Piercings done by an ear piercing gun are exempt.

Tattoos – Allowed on minors age 16 or older when covering up an existing tattoo only. The parent/guardian must be present and sign a consent form.

 Texas § 146.0125

§ 146.012

Piercings – Allowed without consent if in the earlobe. Otherwise, the parent or guardian must be present and give consent.

Tattoos – Yes, if covering up an existing tattoo only. The parent/guardian must be present and give consent.

 Utah § 76-10-2201 Allowed if the parent or guardian gives written consent and is present at the time of the procedure. Piercings to the ear do not require consent.
 Vermont § 4102 Piercings – No State regulations.

Tattoos – Allowed with written consent from the parent or guardian.

 Virginia  § 18.2-371.3  Yes, if the minor’s parent or guardian is present during the procedure. Consent is not needed for ear piercings.
 Washington  § 26.28.085 Piercings – No State laws.

Tattoos – No, a minor may not receive a tattoo.

 West Virginia § 16-38-3 Piercings – There are no State regulations.

 Tattoos – Allowed if the parent or guardian provides written consent. Consent forms shall be kept on file for 5 years.

 Wisconsin § 221.10 Piercings – Yes, a minor age 16 or older may be pierced if the parent/guardian signs a consent form in the presence of the operator. Ear piercings are exempt from this requirement.

Tattoos – For any reason other than medical purposes, a minor may not be tattooed.

 Wyoming § 14-3-107 Allowed with verbal consent from the parent/guardian. The parent/guardian must also be present at the time of the procedure. These requirements do not apply to ear piercings.

(Video) What is a Tattoo & Body Piercing Consent Form?

How to Write an Adult Tattoo Consent Form

Step 1 – Download in Adobe PDF, Microsoft Word (.docx), or Open Document Text (.odt).

Step 2 – Enter the name of the tattoo studio in the first available space.

Step 3 – The information presented here is meant to inform the individual being tattooed (referred to within this tutorial as the “patron”) of the health risks associated with getting a tattoo. If the patron agrees to proceed, he or she must sign their initials and print their name.

Step 4 – Next, the patron must sign their initials to waive and release the tattoo studio from any liability of personal injury or other damages which may occur as a result of the procedure and application of a tattoo.

Step 5 – The patron must provide their initials here to indicate that they’ve been given the opportunity to ask any questions related to the procedure and that their questions, if any, have been answered to their total satisfaction.

Step 6 – Have the patron sign their initials here to indicate that they have been given the proper instructions to care for their tattoo while it is healing. Additionally, the patron’s initials will also indicate their acknowledgment of the fact that their tattoo may become infected if not maintained according to the instruction given by the tattoo studio and that any touch-up work which may be needed will be done at their own expense.

Step 7 – Here, the patron must sign their initials to prove that they are not under the influence of alcohol or drugs and that they are being tattooed under their own volition.

Step 8 – The patron must provide their initials to indicate that they are not on any medication or have any medical conditions that may interfere with the application and/or healing of a tattoo.

Step 9 – If the patron has chosen to receive a tattoo which includes a symbol or text, he/she must provide their initials here to show their understanding that the tattoo studio is not responsible for the meaning or spelling of such symbol or text.

Step 10 – This information informs the patron of the possibility of variations in color that may exist between the tattoo art they’ve selected and the actual tattoo they receive. These details also mention the fact that the colors and clarity of their tattoo may fade over time. If the patron is in compliance with this information, have them sign their initials in the available space.

Step 11 – Here, the patron’s initials are required to show their understanding that a tattoo is a permanent change of appearance and that it can only be removed by laser or surgical means.

Step 12 – This portion of the consent form should only be initialed by the patron if they would like to release the rights to any photographs taken of them or of the tattoo.

Step 13 – The patron must sign their initials here to agree to the tattoo studio’s no refund policy.

Step 14 – If the patron agrees to reimburse the tattoo studio for any legal fees which may be incurred as a result of legal action brought against the tattoo studio, have them provide their initials in the first entry field. He/she must then provide the name of the County and State in which the courts will have jurisdiction over the patron in the event of any litigation or dispute.

Step 15 – Here, have the patron initial the empty space to prove that they have been given adequate opportunity to understand the consent form and that it was not presented to them at the last minute.

Step 16 – Lastly, the patron must provide their signature, printed name, date of birth, address (street, city, State) and describe the type of identification they are providing.

How to Write an Adult Piercing Consent Form

Step 1 – Begin by downloading the form in Microsoft Word (.docx), Adobe PDF, or Open Document Text (.odt).

Step 2 – In the first empty field at the top of the page, enter the name of the individual performing the piercing.

Step 3 – The person receiving the piercing (the patron) must provide his/her initials in the first space to indicate that they are not currently pregnant or nursing. The patron must then provide their initials in the second space to attest that they do not suffer from medical or skin conditions located at the site of the piercing.

Step 4 – If the patron has any allergies to metals, latex gloves, soaps, or other medications, he/she must inform the piercer prior to receiving the piercing. The patron should be aware that it is not reasonable for the piercer to determine whether an allergic reaction might occur as a result of the piercing. If the patron understands this information, he/she must provide their initials here.

Step 5 – Next, the patron must supply their signature to attest to being over the age of eighteen (18) and to indicate that they are not under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Their signature also shows that they do not have any impairment or disability (to their knowledge) which might affect their well-being as a result of the piercing.

Step 6 – The patron is required to supply their initials to indicate their understanding that the piercing is their choice and that it will permanently affect their appearance. Their initials will also prove that they are aware that the piercer has given them no representation of the ability to restore skin to pre-piercing condition after the piercing has been made.

Step 7 – Due to the nature of the procedure, an infection to the skin is always possible. The patron should be informed of this information and be given instructions for proper treatment after the piercing has been made. If the patron understands this information and agrees to follow the aftercare instructions, have them supply their initials in the provided space.

Step 8 – Next, the patron must provide their initials in the space here to show their understanding that they will be pierced using appropriate instruments and sterilization.

Step 9 – The first space in this portion of the consent form should be filled in with the name of the body part which is to be pierced. Below that, enter the typical amount of time that is needed for the piercing to heal. Date the signing of this document by entering the day, month, and year in the remaining spaces.

Step 10 – If the patron agrees to all of the aforementioned provisions, they must supply their signature before printing their name, address, age, drivers license number, and State of residence.

How to Write a Minor (Child) Tattoo Consent Form

Step 1 – Download the form in your desired format (Adobe PDF, Microsoft Word, Open Text Document).

Step – Begin filling in the form by entering the name of the State and County in which the procedure is being performed. Next, the parent or legal guardian must print their name followed by their address.

Step 3 – Supply the following information in the available spaces:

  • Name of minor
  • Birthdate of minor
  • Age of minor
  • Description and location of tattoo
  • Signature of parent/guardian

Step 4 – Certain States require the tattoo consent form to be notarized. If this is the case, the Notary Public must supply the following information before the form is complete:

  • Date
  • Printed name
  • Form of identification given by parent/guardian (if applicable)
  • Signature of notary
  • Printed name
  • Seal

How to Write a Minor (Child) Piercing Consent Form

Step 1 – Start by downloading the consent form in Microsoft Word (.docx), Adobe PDF, or Open Text Document (.odt).

Step 2 – Enter the name of the State and County in which the piercing is taking place. Below that, the parent or guardian must print their name and supply their address.

Step 3 – Next, the parent/guardian must specify the following details:

  • Name of minor
  • Birthdate of minor
  • Age of minor
  • Location of piercing
  • Signature

Step 4 – If State laws require the consent form to be notarized, the Notary Public must provide the following information:

  • Date of notarization
  • Printed name
  • Form of identification given by parent/guardian (if applicable)
  • Signature
  • Printed name


ABOUT SSL CERTIFICATES