Utah 3 Day Notice to Quit Form | Non-Payment

Create a high quality document online now!

The Utah 3 Day Notice to Quit (Non-Payment) is required by Utah law that the landlord give at least a 3-day notice to pay or vacate, which must be in writing, when a tenant fails to pay rent on time. The notice must specify the exact amount of rent, late fees, and all other charges that must be paid before the three days (does not include the day of service) are up. Once the notice is complete, the landlord can have anyone deliver it upon their behalf. Some states require that the notice be notarized, however Utah does not.

Paying partial rent to delay an eviction will not work as the landlord can give the tenant another 3 day notice to quit. As in all cases, the best way to stop an eviction is to pay the full amount within the 3 days. If a payment plan to render past dues is put in place, make sure to have it in writing. If the tenant fails to pay or leave within 3 days, the landlord may file an eviction lawsuit (unlawful detainer) against the tenant.

Laws – § 78B-6-802

How to Write

Complete the forms as follows:

  • Name and address of tenant(s)
  • Name, address, and telephone number of landlord(s)
  • Amount to be paid in order to avoid eviction and the time period from which it accumulated
  • Fill out the Return of Service which serves proof that the form was delivered to the tenant and select the method of delivery
  • Signature of person delivering notice

ABOUT SSL CERTIFICATES