Kansas Name Change Forms – How to Change Your Name in Kansas

A Kansas name change form is used to request a legal name change for an adult or a minor. The requesting party must have held a residency in Kansas for at least sixty (60) days before the court will consider the request. If a parent wishes to change their child’s last name to that of the other parent, or to a hyphenated name containing both parents’ last names, the individual needn’t file the general name change forms. Instead, they can contact the Department of Health and Environment to request an amendment to the child’s birth certificate.

Laws § 60-1402 and § 23-2223

Table of Contents

Name Change After Marriage

Fill out your marriage license application using the new last name and file the document with the district court to obtain your license. Once the marriage ceremony has taken place, and you are legally married in Kansas, order a certified copy of your marriage record from the Department of Health and Environment ($15 fee). Finally, use the copy as evidence of your name change when updating your social security card, driver’s license, and other personal accounts.

Name Change After Divorce

Kansas permits an individual to restore their former or maiden name upon filing their divorce action or, if the divorce is final, at any point after the divorce has been processed by the court. If your divorce is pending, you can ask the court to include the name change as a provision to your divorce ruling. If your divorce proceedings have finished, you can restore your name by filing the Affidavit Requesting Order Changing Name with your local district court.

Request a certified copy of your divorce record from the Department of Health and Environment ($15). The document serves as evidence of your name change and is permitted for use at the Social Security Administration, DMV, and other agencies.

Adult Name Change (No Marriage or Divorce)

Requesting a name change will require you to submit a written Petition to the district court and pay the corresponding filing fee. You must also give notice of your Petition to all interested persons (e.g., children, spouse). The notice must be given by publication in a legal classified, by certified mail, or both.

Kansas statute § 60-1402(a) states that, in order for your Petition to be considered by the court, you must have been a resident in the State for at least sixty (60) days.

Step 1 – Civil Cover Sheet

The Civil Cover Sheet is used by the court to reference your case after they process your Petition. Download the form and supply your personal information, contact details, and other data pertinent to your name change. Contact a clerk in your county if assistance is needed in filling out the form.

Step 2 – Petition for Change of Name

Continue by completing the Petition for Change of Name. This document will state the reason for your name change, your former name(s), your current name, and the new name that you would like to use. Fill out the form completely and provide your signature above the line titled “Petitioner, Pro Se.” Make a photocopy of the Petition once it has been completed.

Step 3 – Submit Your Petition

Go to the district court in your county and file your paperwork with a clerk. You will need to submit the original Petition, one (1) photocopy of the Petition, and the Civil Cover Sheet. Next, payment of the filing fee must be provided (contact clerk for current prices).

After filing, the clerk will give you your case number and inform you of the court division assigned to your case.

Step 4 – Hearing and Notice Information

Contact the court assigned to your case and ask the clerk or administrative assistant for the date and time of your court hearing. Ask the clerk or assistant to let you know the notice type required for your case (notice by mail, notice by publication, or both).

Step 5 – Give Notice of Your Name Change

Depending on the notice requirement assigned to you by the court (step 4), you will either need to give notice of your name change by publication, by certified mail or both.

Notice by Publication

Contact a newspaper in your county which has been authorized by the court to publish legal classified ads (ask a clerk for this information). Fill out the Notice of Hearing by Publication form and give it to the newspaper for publication. Have the Notice published one (1) time each week for a total of three (3) consecutive weeks. A statement of publication will be issued by the newspaper and sent either to you or mailed directly to the court. If you receive the statement, bring it to your hearing and file it with a clerk.

Notice by Certified Mail

Start by filling out the Notice of Hearing by Mail form. Send a copy of the Notice to all interested persons by certified mail (return receipt requested); an interested person can include your spouse, children, and creditors. Ask a clerk to inform you of the court rules governing who is required to be notified. The return receipts you receive should be kept and brought to your hearing for filing.

Step 6 – Order for Name Change

An Order for Name Change form will be signed by a judge upon the approval of your name change. Prepare the document by entering the applicable information. Be sure to leave the date of order and signature fields empty.

Step 7 – Attend Court Hearing

Visit the courthouse on the date and time scheduled for your court hearing. Ensure that you have the following documents with you:

  • Proof of notice
    • Statement of publication OR return receipts
  • Order for Name Change

Attend your hearing and await the judge’s decision. If your request is approved, the Order for Name Change will be signed by the judge and returned to you. Ask a clerk to make you several photocopies of the Order. Lastly, file the original Order form with the clerk and request that the copies be stamped (a fee may be required). The stamped copies may be used to update your name at the DMV, Social Security Administration, etc.

Driver’s License

If you’ve recently changed your name, you will need to notify the DMV and request a new driver’s license within ten (10) days of the change. You must visit a local DMV office in person and supply the following items:

  • Current driver’s license
  • Certified copy of your name change document (e.g., marriage certificate or divorce decree)
  • Proof of identity (see list of accepted documents)
  • Payment for the $16 fee

Your new driver’s license will then be issued by the DMV and sent to you by mail.

Note: The DMV will not allow you to change your driver’s license until you’ve notified the Social Security Administration (SSA) and requested a new social security card. Learn how to inform the SSA of your name change by reviewing this webpage.

Voter Registration

The name recorded on your voter registration information can be updated by submitting a new Voter Registration Form to your local County Elections Office. The form may be sent in by mail, fax, or hand-delivered. Alternatively, you can complete the process using the Secretary of State’s online registration page.

Minor (Child) Name Change

Kansas has no current law which regulates minor name changes. However, the Kansas Department of Health and Environment has guidelines for amending a child’s birth certificate to reflect a new last name. These instructions only apply if the child’s last name is being changed to either parent’s last name, to either parent’s maiden surname, or to a hyphenated last name containing both parents’ last names. Follow the tutorial below to amend a child’s birth certificate.

Note: If you’d like to change a child’s name to anything other than their parents’ last name, maiden surname, or to a hyphenated name, the Kansas Department of Health and Environment suggests that the general name change law should be applied (§ 60-1402). The Adult Name Change forms can be used for this purpose, though you may wish to contact your local court to see if additional rules apply.

Step 1 – Certified Birth Certificate

Order a certified copy of the child’s current birth certificate from the Kansas Department of Public Health and Environment. The certified copy will cost $15 (additional fees may apply depending on the ordering method).

Step 2 – Paternity Consent Form for Birth Registration

The document needed to amend a child’s birth certificate is the Paternity Consent Form for Birth Registration. Download the form and have it printed. Both parents must provide their initials at the bottom of the first page. The date must be entered in the remaining space.

Step 3 – Father’s Affidavit

In the “Father’s Affidavit” area located on page (2) of the Paternity Consent Form, the child’s father must enter his personal information and check the applicable boxes. The father must not sign the document until he is in the presence of a judge or an authorized hearing officer.

Step 4 – Mother’s Affidavit

The “Mother’s Affidavit” area found on page (2) of the Paternity Consent Form should be filled out in the same manner as the “Father’s Affidavit.”

Step 5 – File With the District Court

Visit any district court location in Kansas and file your documents with a clerk. You will need to provide the clerk with the Paternity Consent Form for Birth Registration, the certified copy of the child’s birth certificate, and personal identification for each parent. The parents will need to sign the Paternity Consent Form in front of the judge or authorized hearing officer.

Step 6 – Order Form

Once the judge or officer signs the form, they will complete the process by filling out the Order to Prepare New Birth Registration form (page 3 of the Paternity Consent Form for Birth Registration). A clerk of the court will mail the completed Order form to the Kansas Department of Health and Environment so that they may update the child’s birth certificate.