California Lease Termination Letter Form | 60-Day Notice

Create a high quality document online now!

Updated September 08, 2022

A California Lease Termination Letter (60 Days) is a notice for a residential landlord to use when they seek to have a tenant vacate the premises after they have lived there for at least a year or more. In California, a landlord may terminate a lease after a tenant has lived at the property for a year or more by providing one of two (2) sixty (60) days’ notice forms to the tenant, either for at-fault just cause or no-fault just cause. If a tenant has been living on the property for less than a year, the landlord only needs to provide thirty (30) days’ notice and should use the 30-day termination letter instead.

Cal. Civ. Code § 1946.1 – An owner of a residential dwelling shall give notice at least sixty (60) days prior to the proposed date of termination.

Just Cause 

In accordance with the California Tenant Protection Act, a landlord in California may only submit a 60-day notice to vacate for tenants living in a property over one (1) year with just cause.

At-Fault Just Cause

A landlord in California can submit a 60-day notice to vacate for at-fault just cause, which includes default by payment of rent or breach of lease terms. These grounds consist of various matters that typically would be considered a default by the tenant. The tenant must be given the chance to correct the violation. If they do not, the landlord may start eviction proceedings by delivering an official notice to quit.

 

 

 

 

 

Download: Adobe PDF

No-Fault Just Cause

A landlord in California can submit a 60-day notice for no-fault just cause, which can include matters such as serious renovations, the owner moving in to make the residence their primary, or to end participation in the rental market. The landlord will usually be required to assist the tenant with relocation.

 

 

 

 

 

Download: Adobe PDF

Landlord Assistance in No-Fault Just Cause

Unless exempt, if the termination is based on a no-fault just cause, the landlord must either assist the tenant in relocating by providing a direct payment or waiving the final month’s rent in accordance with Cal. Civ. Code § 1946.2. Notice for termination that fails to provide either option will be deemed void under California law. The amount of relocation assistance or rent waiver shall be equal to one (1) month of the Tenant’s rent. If the Tenant fails to vacate after the expiration of the notice to terminate the tenancy, the actual amount of any relocation assistance or rent waiver provided is recoverable as damages in an action to recover possession.