eForms Logo

Ohio Eviction Notice Forms (4)

Create a high-quality document now!

Ohio Eviction Notice Forms (4)

Updated January 08, 2024

An Ohio eviction notice is a letter used to let a tenant know that they must cure a violation in their lease agreement. The landlord is recommended to send via certified letter with return receipt to have proof the tenant received the notice. The tenant will be required to fix the issue or vacate the property by the end of the notice period. If the tenant complies with the eviction notice, then the lease continues as it was previously.

By Type (4)



3-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Payment of Rent)– This form is used to notify a tenant they have failed to pay rent when it is due. The tenant will have three days to respond before the landlord can proceed with an eviction action.

Download: PDF, MS Word, OpenDocument

 

 



3-Day Notice to Quit (Non-Compliance) – Used to notify a tenant that they are violating a lease term, other than not paying rent. The tenant will have three days to respond.

Download: PDF, MS Word, OpenDocument

 

 



30-Day Notice to Quit (Health or Safety Violation) – If a tenant is in violation of a health or safety code, the landlord can deliver this notice instructing the tenant to fix the problem or vacate the premises.

Download: PDF, MS Word, OpenDocument

 

 



30-Day Notice to Quit (Month-to-Month Tenancy) – Used to inform a party that a month-to-month tenancy will not be renewed.

Download: PDF

 

 


Table of Contents

Eviction Laws

  • Rent Grace Period: No laws.
  • Non-Payment of Rent: 3 days.[1][2]
  • Non-Compliance: 3 days.[1][2]
  • Health & Safety Violation: 30 days.[3]
  • Termination (Month-to-Month Lease): 30 days.[4]
  • Eviction Filing: Forcible Entry and Detainer.[5]

Court Forms

Hand and pen atop a sheet of paper.

The below court forms are only applicable for use in Cuyahoga County, Cleveland. If the eviction is taking place in another county, the landlord or tenant must obtain the necessary paperwork from their local municipal court.

Notice to Leave Premises – Provides the tenant with three (3) days notice to vacate the premises after failing to pay rent or other non-compliance with the lease.

Notice to Terminate Tenancy – Landlords may serve this notice upon monthly tenants to notify them that their tenancy will expire in thirty (30) days.

24 Hour Notice – Informs the tenant that the landlord will access their unit within twenty-four (24) hours.

Complaint in Forcible Entry and Detainer – Filed by the landlord after serving the tenant the appropriate notice period to vacate.

Defendant’s Answer (Sample of page 4) – Used by the tenant to respond to an eviction complaint filed against them. Must be filed within twenty-eight (28) days after receiving a court summons.

When is Rent Due

Desk calendar showing date.

Your lease will tell you when your rent is due. If it is not paid by that date, it is considered late and the landlord will be able to send you a three-day notice to pay or vacate.

How to Evict (4 steps)

  1. Provide Eviction Notice to Tenant
  2. File Complaint with Local Court
  3. Wait for Tenant’s Answer
  4. Attend Hearing

1. Provide Eviction Notice to Tenant

In Ohio, you need to provide notice to your tenant when they are violating terms of the lease before you can go to court to evict them. You will need to save a copy of the notice and evidence that you delivered it to the tenant for court. The notices that can be served, depending on the breach, are as follows:

2. File Complaint with Local Court

If the tenant does not move or cure the problem within the time period allowed, a landlord may go the next step by going to the Local Municipal or County Court and obtaining a Complaint. In Ohio, each court has its own form and process, so it is important that you ascertain what the requirements are for the court you are in.

3. Wait for Tenant’s Answer

Once you have filed a complaint, the court will issue a Summons and a copy of the Complaint to the tenant. The tenant will have a minimum of seven days from receipt of the Summons to respond and file the Answer.

4. Attend Hearing

The landlord should make sure to have copies of the notice, evidence that it was delivered as well as copies of documents that show the breach by the tenant. If the tenant does not show up when instructed and/or the judge finds in favor of the landlord, the court will issue a Writ of Restitution which gives the tenant a certain number of days to vacate.

Sources

  1. § 1923.02
  2. § 1923.04
  3. § 5321.11
  4. § 5321.17(B)
  5. § 1923