Rhode Island 5-Day Notice to Quit Form | Non-Payment

Create a high quality document online now!

The Rhode Island 5-day notice to quit, also known as form DC-55, is sent to a tenant who has failed to pay rent on time. When the tenant goes 15 days past the due date without paying rent, the landlord may serve this notice demanding rent. It will allow the tenant five (5) days to pay the past-due rent. If not paid after 5 days, the landlord may go to the local district court clerk’s office on the 6th day to request and fill out the proper eviction forms, mainly by filing a “complaint for Eviction for Nonpayment of Rent.

The summons for eviction shall specify the hearing date and the defendant may file and serve their answer prior to or at the time of the hearing. If the tenant fails to respond or fails to appear at the hearing, they shall be deemed in default.

Laws – G.L. 1956 § 34-18-35

How to Write

The landlord must provide true and accurate information within this notice. Complete the following information and include your signature before serving the tenant.

  • Mailing date
  • Information pertaining to the tenant such as their name, address, city, state, and zip code
  • Amount of rent owed to satisfy the notice
  • Landlord’s signature, printed name and address
  • Complete the Proof of Notice at the bottom by pledging that a copy of the notice was sent by certified mail

ABOUT SSL CERTIFICATES