Alabama Month-to-Month Rental Agreement

Create a high quality document online now!

An Alabama month to month lease agreement is a rental contract with no end date and allows either the landlord or tenant to cancel with 30 days’ notice. The agreement follows all State laws the same as a standard lease although has the option to be terminated with short notice. This is preferred for any landlord or tenant seeking a short-term tenancy arrangement.

The same precautions should be met when writing a month to month lease as with any other type such as checking the tenant’s credit and background with the rental application.

Minimum Termination Period – 30 days

Laws§ 35-9A-441(b)

How to Write

Download: Adobe PDF, MS Word

Step 1 – Download and begin by filling-in the full names of the landlord and tenant.

Step 2 – Enter the address of the premises.

Step 3 – Enter the lease commencement date (this is not the date the agreement is signed).

Step 4 – Enter the terms of the document including the following:

  • Lease payment amounts on a per month basis;
  • Date payments are due;
  • Late charges (if any);
  • Late fee amount for any checks made for insufficient funds;
  • Security deposit amount – Cannot be more than the equivalent of one (1) month’s rent per Section 35-9A-201;
  • Default clause – Days the tenant has to cure any defect;
  • Occupants – List how many persons are allowed to stay on the premises;
  • List if the tenant has the permission to sublease the property;
  • List utilities and services provided by the landlord by checking the boxes;
  • Pet deposit amount;
  • Write how many days the tenant being away from the property is considered abandonment;
  • Display of signage;
  • Hours the tenant is allowed to move-in/move-out and have the delivery of furniture;
  • Parking;
  • Balconies;

Step 5 – Both landlord and tenant should sign the document. The security deposit (if any) should be given at this time along with access to the property (if applicable).

Related Forms

Alabama Termination Letter – Use to cancel a month-to-month lease in Alabama by providing at least 30 days’ notice.

Download: Adobe PDF, MS Word


ABOUT SSL CERTIFICATES