Utah 3-Day Notice for Lease Violation

Create a high quality document online now!

A Utah 3-Day notice to comply or quit is used to bring resolution of a breach committed by a tenant that violates terms agreed to in a lease agreement between a landlord and tenant. The tenant must comply within 3 calendar days (including weekends and holidays) and resolve the violation or vacate the rented premises. Failure to comply with the notice will result in the tenant being served a Summons and Complaint for unlawful detainer.

Laws§ 78B-6-802

Two (2) Types


1st Lease Violation – The tenant has the right to comply with the lease and must comply or vacate within three (3) days. Violations such as music being too loud do not need to be cured but if there was damage or an unlawful business utilized on the property then it must cease operations (§ 78B-6-802(1)).

Download: Adobe PDF

 


2nd Lease Violation – The tenant does not have the right to comply and must vacate the premises within three (3) days (§ 78B-6-802(2)).

Download: Adobe PDF

 

 


If the court finds the tenant guilty of an unlawful detainer, the tenant may be responsible to pay for damages, attorney fees, and any unpaid dues. If the lease requires mediation, the tenant should file for mediation within 3 days and the process for mediation will take place within 7 days of the landlord receiving your written notification.