Oregon Standard Residential Lease Agreement

Create a high quality document online now!

An Oregon standard residential lease agreement is for landlords seeking to legally rent property to tenants. It is the most common type of rental arrangement which is for a fixed period that usually lasts for one (1) year. The agreement incorporates the required disclosures in Oregon and, after signing, the agreement becomes legally binding to both landlord and tenant.

Laws – Title 10, Chapter 90 (Residential Landlord & Tenant)

HandbookLandlord-Tenant Law in Oregon (PDF)

Disclosures

Carbon Monoxide Alarms (§ 90.316) – If the residence has a carbon monoxide emitting appliance, the residence must be fitted with carbon dioxide alarms. The alarms must be set up in accordance with the recommendation by the Fire Marshal’s office (See Guide). If the alarms are battery-powered, the landlord is required to fit all alarms with new batteries at the start of the tenancy.

Carbon Monoxide Disclosure (§ 90.316) – Required to be attached to the agreement if the property has any carbon monoxide emitting devices.

Flood Plain (§ 90.228) – The landlord must inform the tenant if the property is located in the 100-year Flood Plain.

Lead-Based Paint Disclosure – Only required for structures built before 1978. A federal law requiring landlords to complete and inform their tenants if the property contains lead-based paint.

Move-in Checklist (§ 30.01.087(D)(1)City of Portland ONLY) – Must be completed and provided to the tenant within seven (7) days from the lease start date. The tenant will have seven (7) days to return to the landlord. If the tenant does not return within seven (7) days, the landlord must take digital photos of the premises within seventeen (17) days and attach them to the inspection checklist.

NSF (Dishonored) Check (§ 30.701) – If the landlord charges a fee for dishonored checks, it must be mentioned in the lease agreement and cannot be more than thirty-five dollars ($35).

Instructions for Recycling – Required only for units in a building of more than four (4) units and in an Urban Growth Boundary. The instructions must include options for the tenant on how to recycle their waste.

Security Deposit Receipt (§ 30.01.087(B)(1)) (City of Portland ONLY) – Within two (2) weeks after the landlord received a security deposit from the tenant a receipt must be returned to them. The receipt must detail the name and location of the bank where the funds are being held.

Smoking Policy (Adobe PDFMS Word) (§ 90.220) – The landlord must give a detailed smoking policy to each tenant.

Other Versions (1)

Oregon Rental Housing Assoc.

Download: Adobe PDF