Pennsylvania Lease Agreements (6) | Residential & Commercial

Create a high quality document online now!

Updated December 27, 2022

A Pennsylvania lease agreement allows landlords to rent property to tenants in exchange for payment. It is advised for a landlord to verify their tenant’s income and employment status prior to authorizing a lease. This will give proof that they can afford the rent. When signing the lease, the tenant will be obligated to provide payment for the security deposit, if any, and the first month’s rent.

Rental Application – Use to ensure the tenant has the income to pay rent.

Table of Contents

Agreement Types (6)

Standard Residential Lease Agreement – Usually written as a one-year arrangement but can be for any specified timeframe with a start and end date.

Download: Adobe PDF, MS Word, OpenDocument

Commercial Lease Agreement – To be used for all business-related tenancies.

Download: Adobe PDFMS Word, OpenDocument

Month-to-Month Lease Agreement (§ 250.501) – Allows for the landlord or tenant to cancel within 15 days. If the tenancy has been ongoing for more than one year, the parties must give each other at least 30 days’ notice.

Download: Adobe PDFMS Word, OpenDocument

Rent-to-Own Lease Agreement – Standard residential contract that allows for the lessor and lessee to create a pre-determined agreement for the purchase and sale of the rental property.

Download: Adobe PDFMS Word, OpenDocument

Room Rental (Roommate) Agreement – For the members of a home where each occupant is given a bedroom and the contract is for the shared common areas and expenses.

Download: Adobe PDF

Sublease Agreement – For a tenant seeking to sublet space they have under lease from the landlord/agent.

Download: Adobe PDF

Required Disclosures (1)

Lead-Based Paint Disclosure – If any housing structure was built prior to 1978, then the tenant must be informed. The landlord must complete and both parties signing the disclosure.

Security Deposits

Maximum Amount (§ 250.511.1(a)) – The landlord may ask for up to two (2) months’ rent.

Returning (§ 250.512) – Within thirty (30) days of the lease termination date or when possession has been delivered back to the landlord, whichever comes first, shall give back all funds associated with the deposit along with an itemized list if there are any deductions.

When is Rent Due? (Grace Period)

Rent is due on the date mentioned in the lease. There is no grace period. If rent is not paid on the due date, the landlord can send a 10-day notice to quit (§ 250.501(b)).

Late Rent

Maximum Penalty – There is no law that caps the amount a landlord can charge for a late fee.

NSF Fee (§ 4105(e)(5)) – $50 is the maximum fee a landlord can charge for a bad check.

Right to Enter (Landlord)

There are no statutes that give the right to the tenant that notice must be given prior to the landlord’s entry. Although, the landlord is recommended to give written notice at least one (1) day prior to entering the property.

Video

Resources