eForms Logo

Wyoming Lease Agreement Templates (6)

A Wyoming lease agreement is a legal document between a landlord and tenant used for the renting of property. The tenant is responsible for paying rent and maintaining the premises, while the landlord is obligated to make any necessary repairs during the lease term. Once the lease is signed, it is legally binding on both parties.
5.0 Stars | 4 Ratings
Downloads: 108

By Type (6)

Standard Residential Lease Agreement – General contract for usually one year. This is the most popular type of agreement.

Download: PDF, MS Word, OpenDocument

Commercial Lease Agreement – For an arrangement between a landlord and tenant for the use of the business property.

Download: PDFMS WordOpenDocument

Month-to-Month Lease Agreement – Contract for a residential tenancy that has no end date. The landlord and tenant should negotiate the term for how much time is needed to cancel the agreement as there is no State requirement.

Download: PDFMS WordOpenDocument

Rent-to-Own Lease Agreement – Common residential contract with a right for the tenant to buy space/property at an agreed price.

Download: PDFMS WordOpenDocument

Room Rental Agreement – For individuals living in a home with shared spaces such as a kitchen, living room, patio, etc. The contract creates a common agreement amongst the persons in relation to cleaning, expenses, utilities, and other fees/charges.

Download: PDFMS WordOpenDocument

Sublease Agreement – For a tenant that is seeking to rent the same space they are bound to in a lease with the landlord. Usually, the landlord must approve this type of tenancy.

Download: PDFMS WordOpenDocument

Required Disclosures (2)

  1. Lead-Based Paint Disclosure & EPA Pamphlet – Federal law requires landlords of properties constructed before 1978 to inform current and prospective tenants of the possible existence of lead-based paint inside the property.
  2. Nonrefundable Fees (conditional) – If any portion of the security deposit is nonrefundable, this must be disclosed to the tenant in writing and included in the lease agreement.[1]

Security Deposits

Maximum Amount – No state law establishes a maximum amount that a Wyoming landlord may charge for a security deposit.

Collecting Interest – Wyoming state law does not require that interest be collected or paid on a security deposit.

Nonrefundable Deposits – The landlord is required to give written notice to the tenant if any portion of the security deposit is nonrefundable. This information must also be included in the lease agreement.[1]

Returning – The landlord must return the security deposit funds to the tenant within 30 days of the end of the lease or within 15 days of receiving the tenant’s forwarding address, whichever is later.[2]

  • Itemized List – A written itemization of any deductions from the security deposit must be provided to the tenant within 30 days of the end of the lease or 15 days from the receipt of the tenant’s forwarding address, whichever is later.[2]

When is Rent Due?

Grace Period – There is no statutory grace period in Wyoming. The tenant must be current on all rent payments as required by the lease.[3] If the rent is not paid on the due date, the landlord can issue a three-day notice to pay or quit to the tenant.

Maximum Late Fee – Wyoming state law does not limit the amount that a landlord can charge for a late penalty. However, the amount of such a penalty should be included in the lease agreement.

NSF Fee – A landlord cannot charge more than $30 for a bounced check written by a tenant.[4]

Withholding Rent – Tenants do not have the right under Wyoming state law to withhold rent for any reason.

Right to Enter (Landlord)

No statewide statutes dictate when a Wyoming landlord may enter a rental property. Nevertheless, it is recommended that the landlord give 24 to 48 hours’ written notice before entering the residence and only do so during normal business hours.

Abandonment

Absence – Wyoming state law does not specify a length of time that a tenant must be absent from the premises for the rental property to be deemed abandoned.

Breaking the Lease – A tenant may terminate the lease without being liable for future rent if they or a member of their household are a victim of domestic abuse or sexual violence, or if they are in imminent threat of such abuse.[5]

Tenant’s Utility Shutoff – If the tenant shuts off the utilities in violation of either the lease agreement or their duties under the law, then the landlord may serve them a three-day notice to quit for non-compliance.[6]

Unclaimed Property – If the tenant leaves any valuable property behind after vacating the unit, the landlord must give written notice to the tenant stating that the property will be disposed of if the tenant does not respond to the notice within seven days.[7]

Video